NIST uses three NIST Special Publication subseries to publish computer/cyber/information security and guidelines, recommendations and reference materials:

SP 800, Computer Security (December 1990-present):

NIST's primary mode of publishing computer/cyber/information security guidelines, recommendations and reference materials
(SP 800s are also searchable in the NIST Library Catalog);

SP 1800, NIST Cybersecurity Practice Guides (2015-present): 

A new subseries created to complement the SP 800s; targets specific cybersecurity challenges in the public and private sectors; practical, user-friendly guides to facilitate adoption of standards-based approaches to cybersecurity;


SP 500, Computer Systems Technology (January 1977-present):

A general IT subseries used more broadly by NIST's Information Technology Laboratory (ITL), this page lists selected SP 500s related to NIST's computer security efforts. (Prior to the SP 800 subseries, NIST used the SP 500 subseries for computer security publications; see Archived NIST SPs for a list.)

Leave a comment